Faster Licensing: A Guide to the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Faster Licensing: A Guide to the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Faster Licensing: A Guide to the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact

Here’s an interesting update for physicians practicing in the U.S.

The Interstate Medical Licensure Compact (IMLC), which allows medical doctors to move quickly through the licensure process, is now available in 37 states, the District of Columbia and the Territory of Guam.

The Compact offers a voluntary, expedited pathway to licensure for qualified physicians who are looking to practice in multiple states.

It significantly streamlines the licensing process and eliminates the need to manage multiple applications. Eligible doctors are asked to complete a single application enabling physicians to get licensed to practice in more states with less work.

The American Medical Association supports state adoption of the Compact as a way to help modernize the state licensure system and promote uniformity in requirements for state licensure.

As a physician, here’s what you need to know:

How It Works

Locations that participate in the IMLC are able to streamline licensure by using an expedited process to share information that physicians have previously submitted in their State of Principal License (SPL) –  the state where a physician holds a full and unrestricted medical license. Physicians apply through the IMLC to receive a Letter of Qualification from their SPL.

To designate an SPL, you must complete an application and then receive a formal Letter of Qualification from that state. Physicians cannot obtain licenses through the Compact unless they have an SPL and are issued a Letter of Qualification.

The SPL has the authority to determine if a physician meets the necessary qualifications. Once qualified, doctors may select any number of Interstate Medical Licensure Compact states in which they want to practice – receiving licensure from these states much more quickly than traditional licensure processes.

How to Qualify

The Interstate Medical Licensure Commission explains the qualifications that are required to apply for a license. At least one of the following must apply:

  • Your primary residence is in the SPL
  • At least 25% of your practice of medicine occurs in the SPL
  • You’re employed to practice medicine by a person, business, or organization located in the SPL
  • You use the SPL as your state of residence for U.S. Federal Income Tax purposes
  • Must be in good standing without a criminal history, have no disciplinary actions against your medical license, or be under investigation

Why is the IMLC Important?

There are many benefits for physicians who qualify, including:

  • The IMLC offers an easier path for physicians already licensed to practice in one state and who want to practice medicine in multiple states
  • For doctors interested in working locum tenens, it significantly simplifies the licensing process to take locums assignments in more parts of the nation
  • An IMLC is a fully unrestricted license issued by the respective state medical board
  • It helps expand the reach of telehealth, increasing access to healthcare for individuals in underserved or rural areas and allowing patients to consult medical experts more easily
  • There’s no requirement for doctors to participate in a Maintenance of Certification

Want to Learn More?

At Annashae we’re dedicated to the placement of highly-skilled clinical practitioners in short and long-term positions. As a nationwide medical staffing and consulting firm, we provide a range of services that enable our candidates to quickly find the career opportunity that fits their needs. For information on the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact and how you can further your clinical career, contact us today.